Wed. Aug 4th, 2021

TACLOBAN CITY – Some towns in Leyte and Biliran provinces have suspended classes on Monday following a magnitude 5.5 earthquake that jolted Leyte town in Leyte province.

Local government units have ordered the suspension of classes in all levels in Carigara, Leyte and Capoocan towns in Leyte, and Biliran town in Biliran province after the ground-shaking that rocked Leyte Island around 5:19 a.m.

“The safety of children and teachers in schools is one of the primary concerns of the local government unit hence, an immediate damage assessment shall be conducted by the municipal engineering office thereby requiring the suspension of classes,” Leyte town Mayor Arnold James Ysidoro said in an executive order.

The tectonic quake, with a depth of three kilometers, struck 52 degrees east of Leyte town.

The local government of Biliran reported that a building of Biliran Science High School sustained cracks and some parts of the ceiling collapsed due to the earthquake.

No one was harmed during the quake.

The tremor was felt at Intensity 5 in Leyte, Kananga, Capoocan, Pastrana, Tacloban City, and Ormoc City in Leyte; Intensity 4 in Palo, Dulag, Babatngon, Alangalang, and Palompon also in Leyte; Mandaue City and Cebu City in Cebu province; and Naval, Biliran; and Intensity 3 in Lapu-Lapu City, Cebu and Lawaan, Eastern Samar.

At least four aftershocks shook Leyte town within an hour after the major quake on Monday morning with magnitudes ranging from 1.4 to 3.1.

Magnitude measures the energy released from the source of the quake, while intensity measures the strength of shaking produced by the earthquake at a certain location. (PNA)

Leave a Reply