Wed. Jul 28th, 2021

MANILA – Workers and other travelers who rely on public transport in and out of Metro Manila must now go through designated terminals for the duration of the community quarantine in the region.

In a Facebook post on Sunday evening, the Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB) established five land terminals that would serve as the gateways of Metro Manila, with all provincial and city routes terminating at these points.

For those coming from Rizal province and east of Metro Manila, all public utility vehicles (PUVs) will stop at the Bayani Fernando Central Terminal (BFCT) in Marikina City where public utility buses (PUBs) used to augment the Light Rail Transit Line 2 (LRT-2) will take passengers inside the metro.

“All PUBs that will be used for LRT-2 augmentation will be diverted to BFCT to help cater to the passengers coming from Rizal area,” the post read.

From the north, or those coming from Meycauayan and Marilao in Bulacan, PUVs will stop at the North Luzon Expressway Terminal (NLET) in Bocaue, Bulacan near the Philippine Arena.

The LTFRB said city buses included in the list of operators at Annex C1 of LTFRB Memorandum Circular (MC) 2019-031 will extend their routes to NLET to cater to passengers going inside Metro Manila.

From the southwest area, commuters will terminate at the Parañaque Integrated Terminal Exchange (PITX) in Parañaque City. The LTFRB noted that all PUVs with endpoints at Baclaran must also terminate at PITX.

For those coming from Bulacan province via Fairview, passengers will be dropped off at Robinsons Fairview where city buses from the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) City Bus Dispatching System will bring the passengers into the metropolis.

The LTFRB said other PUVs with terminals at SM Fairview and Fairview Terraces with routes going to inner parts of Metro Manila will also be at the service of passengers at Robinsons Fairview.

For those coming from the south such as the provinces of Laguna or Batangas, all PUVs will stop at the Santa Rosa Integrated Terminal (SRIT) in Santa Rosa, Laguna.

It said that city buses included in the list of operators at Annex C2 of MC 2019-031 will bring passengers from the SRIT inside Metro Manila.

The terminals, it said were designated during a meeting between the Department of Transportation (DOTr) and its attached agencies including the LTFRB, National Capital Region Police Office, the Philippine National Police, and toll, terminal and PUV operators.

During the meeting, the LTFRB said all parties also agreed to provide special permits to increase the number of PUVs available, not to impose terminal fees, and an exemption for provincial buses with garages in Metro Manila to enter the city during the quarantine period.

“Provincial buses coming from north, south, and southwest with garages in Metro Manila and subject for maintenance will be allowed to enter, provided there should be no passengers and the units must undergo the required sanitation/disinfection prior to leaving their designated terminal,” the post read.

On Monday, DOTr Assistant Secretary Goddes Hope Libiran said the DOTr is mulling a total ban on public transportation in Metro Manila for the entire duration of the community quarantine.

She said the measure will be discussed in a meeting by the Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infections Diseases later in the day. (PNA)

Leave a Reply