Sat. Jul 31st, 2021

MANILA – Non-residents and transit passengers are temporarily barred from entering Hong Kong as part of measures to contain the coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19), the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) said Tuesday.

“The Department of Foreign Affairs informs the public that starting from midnight of 24 March 2020 (0000H 24 March), non-residents will not be allowed into Hong Kong, transit passengers included, for a two-week period,” the DFA said in an advisory.

It asked all travelers to check if their inbound or outbound flights to and from Philippine airports will be affected by the new restriction and adjust travel plans accordingly.

“The DFA reminds the Filipino public to remain vigilant and accurately informed as countries/territories impose and/or adjust travel restrictions that may affect Filipino travelers,” it said.

Various countries have already imposed drastic travel restrictions amid the rising number of Covid-19 cases worldwide.

According to the latest data from the World Health Organization, the number of confirmed Covid-19 cases, globally, have reached 332,930 as of March 23 (10:00 CET). (PNA)

Leave a Reply