Wed. Aug 4th, 2021

MANILA – The majority of the members of President Rodrigo Duterte’s Cabinet is willing to donate 75 percent of their monthly salaries to boost the government’s efforts to curb the spread of coronavirus disease 2019, Malacañang said on Saturday.

In a virtual presser aired on state-run PTV-4, Cabinet Secretary Karlo Nograles said he and some of his fellow Cabinet officials would voluntarily give the 75 percent of their monthly pay to augment Covid-19 response fund.

Nograles, however, refused to name the other Cabinet officials who will make a donation.

“Majority ng mga miyembro ng Gabinete ni Pangulong Duterte ay boluntaryong ibibigay ang malaking bahagi – 75 percent ng kanilang buwanang sahod – upang ilaan sa mga programa ng gobyerno upang sugpuin ang Covid-19 sa loob ng panahong ipinapatupad ang Bayanihan Law (Majority of members of President Duterte’s Cabinet will voluntary give the 75 percent of their monthly salary to help the government fight Covid-19 during the time Bayanihan Law is still in effect),” he said.

Nograles said some of the Cabinet members have signified their plan to donate their monthly salary until December this year.

Republic Act (RA) 11469 or the Bayanihan to Heal As One Act permits the Duterte government to tap PHP275-billion emergency funds for Covid-19.

Under RA 11469 inked on March 27, Duterte is required to submit a weekly report to Congress every Monday.

The report should include the details on how the government will allocate the emergency funds for the Covid-19 response.

The law also allows Duterte to use the PHP200 billion of the PHP275 billion to help the 18 million poor families affected by the Covid-19 pandemic.

On Friday, low-income households from Manila and Parañaque cities already received the emergency subsidy from the national government.

Nograles said LandBank of the Philippines also deposited on Friday the government’s cash assistance on the ATMs of beneficiaries from Metro Manila, Cordillera Administrative Region, Ilocos Region, Cagayan Valley, Central Luzon, Calabarzon and Autonomous Region.

He said poor families from Mimaropa, Bicol Region, Western Visayas, Central Visayas, and the Zamboanga Peninsula would receive emergency relief on Saturday.

The remaining beneficiaries from other regions would receive the aid on Monday (April 6), Nograles said.

“Mga kababayan, lagi namang sinasabi (we are always saying), we are all in this together,” he said. (PNA)

Leave a Reply