Sat. Jan 22nd, 2022

By the Staff

MANILA — President Rodrigo Duterte on Tuesday (12 May 2020) approved the recommendation of the Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infectious Disease (IATF-EID) to extend the enhanced community quarantine for Metro Manila, Laguna and Cebu City until May 31.

However, unlike before, the said areas will now be under “modified” ECQ starting May 16 until May 31 Presidential and IATF-EID Spokesperson Harry Roque said.

Under modified ECQ, local governments in the said areas can allow the limited resumption of public transportation, certain industries to operate at half capacity, and persons to leave their houses only for essential goods and work.

Contained under Resolution No. 35, the key points and classification of risk levels and recommended approach are as follows:

1. Low Risk (Minimum Health Standards, no GCQ or ECQ)

a. Region I – entire

b. Region IV-B – entire

c. Region V – entire

d. Region VI – entire

e. Region VIII – entire

f. Region X – entire

g. Region XII – entire

h. ARMM – entire

2. Moderate (GCQ)

a. Region II – entire

b. Region III – entire

c. Region IV-A – entire except Laguna

d. CAR – entire

e. Region VII – entire except Cebu

f. Region IX – entire

g. Region XI – entire

h. Region XIII – entire

3. High (ECQ)

a. Laguna (Region IV-A)

b. NCR

c. Cebu City (Region VII)

Incidents of COVID-19 infections are greatest in Metro Manila with over 7,000 cases. Cebu City, however, became the city with the most cases after reporting 1,571 cases on Sunday, May 10.


Leave a Reply