MANILA – The Joint Task Force Covid Shield (JTF CV Shield) on Saturday said the movement of locally stranded individuals (LSIs) from and to Cebu City and Talisay City was temporarily suspended as part of the stricter measures.

“As per instruction of SILG (Secretary of the Interior and Local Government) Eduardo Año, the movement of LSIs coming from or going to ECQ (enhanced community quarantine) and MECQ (modified ECQ) areas will not be allowed temporarily,” Lt. Gen. Guillermo Eleazar, JTF CV Shield head, said in a media statement.

He said the instruction Año, also the vice-chairman of the National Task Force Against Covid-19, was to give the two cities’ local officials ample time to contain the spread of the virus within their respective areas of responsibility.

He said they have already coordinated with Philippine National Police (PNP) chief Gen. Archie Gamboa regarding the security measures for the two cities and the issuance of Travel Authority for the areas.

President Rodrigo Duterte earlier reverted Cebu City to ECQ while Talisay City was placed under MECQ until June 30 due to the continuous rise of Covid-19 cases in the two cities.

Meanwhile, Año said the government is now focusing on the areas under ECQ and MECQ.

“Tutulungan natin ang Cebu City na makalampas sa krisis na ito kasi patuloy pa rin ang pagdami (We will help Cebu City to get past this crisis because the cases are increasing),” Año said in a radio interview.

He said the province of Bohol could already be placed under modified general community quarantine (MGCQ) but the local government opted to stay under GCQ as a precautionary measure.

Under ECQ rules, public transportation is suspended, non-essential establishments and businesses are closed, and non-essential travels are prohibited. (ia/PNA)