Thu. Sep 23rd, 2021
League of Municipalities of the Philippines-Mountain Province chapter resolution

MANILA – The League of Municipalities of the Philippines-Mountain Province chapter on Tuesday expressed support for the municipal peace and order council of Sadanga town and its resolution declaring the Cordillera Peoples Alliance (CPA) as persona non grata.

The support was expressed through Resolution No. 4, series of 2020, signed by the members of the league which include Clark Ngaya Municipal Mayor of Barlig, Abraham Akilit of Bauko, Johnson Bantog II of Besao, Jose Agagon of Natonin, Marcos Ayangwa of Paracelis, Marcial Lawilao Jr. of Sabangan, James Pooten of Sagada, Constito Masweng of Tadian, Franklin Odsey of Bontoc, and Sadanga Mayor Gabino Gangganan.

Ganggangan presented Resolution No. 1 series of 2020 to the League of Municipalities of Mountain Province during their meeting at the municipal hall of Bontoc.

The resolution was relayed to the body during their meeting on July 3 and 7.

“It is but proper that the same be respected taking into consideration the said LGUs independence of voicing its common sentiment to an issue which is duly supported by its leaders as well as its constituency,” the resolution said.

The resolution was issued in light of President Rodrigo Duterte’s approval of the Anti-Terrorism Law of 2020, which seeks to curb terror acts and threats.

The new anti-terrorism law aims to correct the flaws in Republic Act (RA) 9372 or the Human Security Act (HSA) of 2007, Presidential Communications Operations Office (PCOO) Secretary Martin Andanar earlier said.

Task Force Bangon Marawi chair Eduardo del Rosario, meanwhile, said the signing of the law is “a victory for all peace-loving Filipinos and a huge setback for the terrorists”. (PNA)

Leave a Reply