Fri. Jul 30th, 2021
(Photo Courtesy:

Forty-three (43) senior officers of the Philippine Health Insurance Corp. (PhilHealth) have tendered their resignations amid the declaration of its newly-appointed president and chief executive officer Dante Gierran that he would reorganize the embattled agency.

Twenty-seven (27) of the 43 PhilHealth officers tendered their courtesy resignations with 21 of them coming from the central office and six from the regions, PHilHealth said in a statement on Thursday night.

The 10 who tendered their resignation from the central office opted to retire while all the six from the regions also did the same.

Gierran on September 30 issued a memorandum to implement a previous board solution “directing all senior officers from Salary Grade 26 and above to tender their courtesy resignation.”

The resignation of the 43 PHilHealth senior officials came days after Justice Secretary Menardo Guevarra said more persons would be charged by the Task Force PhilHealth which is looking into irregularities as its investigation goes deeper into the state insurer’s affairs.

Last week, the National Bureau of Investigation (NBI) formally endorsed to the Office of the Ombudsman the complaint against former PhilHealth president and chief executive officer Ricardo Morales and other senior officials including executive vice president Arnel de Jesus, senior vice president Renato Limsiaco, senior vice president Israel Francis Pargas and vice presidents Gregorio Rulloda, Imelda Trinidad de Vera, Lolita Tuliao, Gemma Sibucao, and Lailani Padua.

The complaint involves anomalies in the implementation of PhilHealth’s interim reimbursement mechanism (IRM) which provided for the grant of cash advances to healthcare institutions in Metro Manila.

The said mechanism is provided for under PhilHealth Circular No. 2020-0007 and allowed the release of funds during natural disasters and armed conflicts. Up to 33 percent or P5 billion of the P14.9 billion released through IRM has been liquidated.

PhilHealth officials are charged with violation of Sections 3(e) and 3 (i) of the Anti-Graft and Corrupt Practices Act, malversation of public funds or property, violation of Sections 251, 255, and 272 of the National Internal Revenue Code, and Section 4 of Republic Act 1051, which requires government agencies to deduct and withhold taxes in payments made to private institutions and individuals.

Leave a Reply