Sat. May 8th, 2021
Quezon alert level raised to code 'Red' in anticipation of 'Quinta'  onslaught | Inquirer News
(Photo Courtesy:

The Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical, and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA) has raised Tropical Cyclone Wind Signal (TCWS) No. 3 in parts of Luzon as Typhoon Quinta continued to make more landfall.

“It will then turn more west-northwestward while maintaining speed towards the western limit of the Philippine area of responsibility (PAR),” PAGASA said.

PAGASA expects Quinta to remain at typhoon category throughout its passage over Mindoro Island. After emerging over the West Philippine Sea, it is likely to re-intensify and may reach its peak intensity within 24 to 48 hours.

Quinta had maximum sustained winds of 125 kph near the center and a gustiness of up to 180 kph. The weather bureau said the typhoon will exit PAR on Tuesday.

In its 8 a.m. weather bulletin, PAGASA said Quinta was in the vicinity of Mamburao, Occidental Mindoro, and is forecast to emerge over the West Philippine Sea within the next hour.

Moderate to heavy with, at times, intense rains will continue over Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Romblon, Marinduque, northern Palawan including Calamian and Cuyo Islands, Calabarzon, Aurora, Isabela, Aklan, Capiz, and Antique.

Moderate to heavy rains will also be experienced over Cagayan, Apayao, Kalinga, Abra, Ilocos Norte, and Ilocos Sur due to the tail-end of a frontal system.

The two weather systems will cause light to moderate with at times heavy rains over Metro Manila, Zamboanga Peninsula, BARMM, Northern Mindanao, Caraga, and the rest of Luzon and Visayas.

TCWS No. 3 was hoisted over the southern portion of Batangas (Lian, Tuy, San Juan, Rosario, Padre Garcia, Lipa City, Cuenca, San Jose, Ibaan, Taysan, Lobo, Batangas City, Mabini, Tingloy, San Pascual, Bauan, Alitagtag, San Luis, Taal, Santa Teresita, Calatagan, Balayan, Calaca, Lemery, Agoncillo, San Nicolas, Mataas Na Kahoy), the northern and central portion of Oriental Mindoro (Oriental Mindoro (Mansalay, Roxas, Bongabong, Bansud, Gloria, Pinamalayan, Pola, Socorro, Victoria, Naujan, Calapan City, Baco, San Teodoro, Puerto Galera), and the northern and central portion of Occidental Mindoro (San Jose, Rizal, Calintaan, Sablayan, Santa Cruz, Mamburao, Paluan, Abra de Ilog) including Lubang Island. Destructive typhoon-force winds will be experienced in these areas.

TCWS No. 2 is still in effect over Quezon, Rizal, Laguna, the rest of Batangas, Cavite, Metro Manila, the southern portion of Bulacan (Norzagaray, Angat, San Rafael, Baliuag, Pulilan, Calumpit, Hagonoy, Paombong, Malolos City, Plaridel, Bustos, San Jose del Monte City, Santa Maria, Pandi, Guiguinto, Balagtas, Bulacan, Bocaue, Meycauayan City, Obando, Marilao), the southern portion of Pampanga (Lubao, Sasmuan, Macabebe, Masantol, Minalin, Apalit), Bataan, Marinduque, the northern portion of Romblon (Concepcion, Banton, Corcuera, Romblon, San Agustin, Calatrava, San Andres, Odiongan, Santa Maria), the rest of Oriental Mindoro, the rest of Occidental Mindoro, and Calamian Islands The extreme northern portion of Antique (Caluya). Damaging gale to storm-force winds will prevail in these areas.

The following are under TCWS No. 1 and will experience strong breeze to near gale conditions: Camarines Norte, the western portion of Camarines Sur (Siruma, Tinambac, Calabanga, Naga City, Pili, Bula, Balatan, Minalabac, Milaor, Bombon, Magarao, Canaman, Camaligan, Gainza, San Fernando, Pasacao, Pamplona, Cabusao, Libmanan, Sipocot, Lupi, Ragay, Del Gallego), Burias Island, the rest of Romblon, the northern portion of Palawan (El Nido, Taytay) including Cuyo Islands, the southern portion of Aurora (Dingalan, San Luis), the southern portion of Nueva Ecija (Gabaldon, Laur, Palayan City, General Tinio, Cabanatuan City, Aliaga, Zaragoza, Jaen, San Antonio, Santa Rosa, Peñaranda, Gapan City, San Leonardo, San Isidro, Cabiao), the southern portion of Tarlac (La Paz, Tarlac City, San Jose, Concepcion, Capas, Bamban), the rest of Bulacan, the rest of Pampanga, and the central and southern portion of Zambales (Iba, Botolan, Cabangan, San Felipe, San Narciso, San Antonio, San Marcelino, Castillejos, Subic, Olongapo City) Aklan and the rest of the northern portion of Antique (Laua-An, Barbaza, Tibiao, Culasi, Sebaste, Pandan, Libertad).

Rough to high seas will be experienced over the seaboards of areas under TCWS. Rough to very rough seas will also prevail over the remaining seaboards of Luzon and the western, northern, and eastern seaboards of Visayas.

Elsewhere, moderate to rough seas will prevail, PAGASA said. SOVEREIGN PH WITH PNA

Leave a Reply