Mon. Jun 21st, 2021
(Photo Courtesy:

The House of Representatives elected nine allies of Speaker Lord Allan Velasco as deputy speakers on Monday, that, however, was followed by two of his partymates getting kicked out as deputy speakers for supporting Taguig-Pateros Rep. Alan Peter Cayetano in the past.

Velasco allies Negros Oriental 3rd District Rep. Arnie Teves Jr.; Valenzuela City 1st District Rep. Wes Gatchalian; Valenzuela City 2nd District Rep. Eric Martinez; Pampanga 4th District Rep. Juan Pablo “Rimpy” Bondoc; former Minority Leader Bienvenido Abante Jr.; BH party-list Rep. Bernadette Herrera-Dy;  Ilocos Sur 2nd District Kristine Singson Meehan; Zamboanga del Sur Rep. Divina Grace Yu; and Sarangani Rep. Rogelio Pacquiao were all appointed as deputy speakers.

Meanwhile, Velasco’s partymates — Pampanga 3rd District Rep. Aurelio “Dong” Gonzales Jr. and Surigao del Sur 2nd District Rep. Johnny Pimentel — were ousted as deputy speakers. The two lawmakers were among those who called on House members to cancel the term-sharing deal between Velasco and Cayetano in October.

Pimental and Gonzales, however, were designated to head the House Special Committee on Strategic Intelligence and House Special Committee on Bases Conversion, respectively. The two committees were once headed by Capiz Rep. Fredenil Castro and Cavite Rep. Francis Gerald Abaya, both Cayetano allies. SOVEREIGNPH

Leave a Reply