Sun. May 16th, 2021

The Metro Manila Council (MMC), composed of 17 metro mayors, have passed Resolution No. 19 ordering the ban on firecrackers in the National Capital Region to help deter the spread of the coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid) in the metropolis.

The MMC is the policy-making body of the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA).

“The Resolution No. 19 by all Metro Manila mayors po ay unanimously agreed na the total ban po of firecrackers sa buong Kamaynilaan, sa buong NCR po. So bawal na po, any kind of firecrackers ay bawal na pong gamitin, ibenta dito po sa loob ng Metro Manila (The Metro Manila mayors through Resolution No. 19 unanimously agree to the total ban of firecrackers in the whole of Metro Manila. So, the sale and use of any kind of firecrackers within Metro Manila is already banned),” said National Capital Region Police Office chief Brig. Gen. Vicente Danao Jr. on Monday.

He added the implementation of the resolution is immediate.

Danao said violators will be initially apprehended and reprimanded.However, he said that local government units (LGUs) can hold public fireworks display, provided the LGUs should first approve any form of fireworks display in safe, designated areas in their area of responsibility. SOVEREIGNPH

Leave a Reply