Sat. May 8th, 2021

The Anti-Terrorism Council (ATC) has designated 16 more groups as terrorist organizations.ATC Resolution Number 13 designated the following groups as terrorists organizations: (1) Islamic State in Iraq and Syria in  South-East  Asia; (2) Dawlatul  Islamiyah  Waliyatul  Masrik; (3) Dawlatul Islamiyyah  Waliyatul  Mashriq; (4) IS East Asia Division; (5) Maute  Group; (6) Islamic State East Asia;  (7) Maute ISIS; (8) Grupong ISIS; (9) Grupo ISIS; (10) Khilafah Islamiyah; (11) KIM; (12) Ansharul  Khilafah; (13) Bangsamoro Islamic Freedom Fighters-Bungos; (14) Bangsamoro Islamic Freedom Fighters-Abubakar; (15) Jama’atu al-Muhajirin wal Ansar fil Filibin; and (16) Daulah Islamiyah.
Most of the said organizations are operating in Mindanao.

The resolution also stated that other Daesh-affiliated groups in the Philippines are terrorist organizations.

Once the ATC officially declares an organization as a terrorist group, the Anti-Money Laundering Council can initiate legal proceedings to freeze and seize the funds of the said organization pursuant to Section 11 of the Republic Act No. 10168 or the Terrorism Financing Prevention and Suppression Act, as provided under Section 25 of the Anti-Terrorist Act.

Preceding ATC Resolution No. 13 was a resolution designating the Communist Party of the Philippines, New People’s Army, and National Democratic Front as terrorist organizations.

The ATC is an agency under the Department of Justice. SOVEREIGNPH

Leave a Reply