Sat. May 8th, 2021

The Philippine government will impose starting tomorrow travel bans to an additional 19 countries to prevent the spread of the new strain of the coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19).

In a statement, presidential spokesperson Harry Roque said the travel ban will be from December 30 to January 15.

The 19 additional countries where the travel ban will be imposed are: Denmark; Ireland; Japan; Australia; Israel; The Netherlands; Hong Kong; Switzerland; France; Germany; Iceland; Italy; Lebanon; Singapore; Sweden; South Korea; South Africa; Canada; and Spain

The government first imposed a travel ban on the United Kingdom, where the new strain of Covid-19 was first discovered. The travel ban on the UK was extended to January 15.

However, Filipino citizens coming from the UK and the 19 other countries are exempted from the travel ban, and are required to undergo tests and quarantine.

“They shall be required to undergo an absolute facility-based 14-day quarantine period, notwithstanding a negative RT-PCR test result,” Roque said. SOVEREIGNPH

Leave a Reply