Sun. May 16th, 2021

Isabela province and Iloilo City have been downgraded to the least stringent modified general community quarantine (MGCQ) amid the coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19) pandemic, Malacañang said on Friday.

In a statement, Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque said only Metro Manila; the provinces of Batangas, Lanao del Sur, and Davao del Norte; and cities of Santiago, Tacloban, Iligan, and Davao will remain under stricter general community quarantine (GCQ). He said all other areas are placed under MGCQ.

“The abovementioned risk-level classifications take effect today, January 1 until January 31, 2021,” Roque said.

Isabela and Iloilo City were initially included in the list of areas under a GCQ that was announced by President Rodrigo Duterte in his talk to the people on December 28, 2020.

The government has been studying the type of quarantine status that should be implemented in the country’s localities, especially with the discovery of a new Covid-19 strain found in the United Kingdom that spreads faster. The new strain has reached countries like the United States.

Hence, the Office of the President, upon the joint recommendation of the Department of Health and the Department of Foreign Affairs, included the US as among the countries subject to travel restrictions to address the Covid-19 new variant found in the UK.

“In this regard, foreign passengers coming from the US, or who have been to the US within 14 days immediately preceding arrival in the Philippines, shall be prohibited from entering the country effective January 3, 2021, 12:01AM, Manila time, until January 15, 2021,” Roque said. SOVEREIGNPH

Leave a Reply