Mon. Apr 12th, 2021

The Department of Health (DOH) will update the list of countries whose citizens will be banned from entering the Philippines to prevent the spread of the new variant of the coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19).

The DOH said it will make recommendations, along with the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA), on which countries to include in the ban besides the initial 20 already covered.

“Pursuant to the Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) Resolution No. 91, as approved by the President (Rodrigo Duterte) on 29 December 2020, the Office of the President may impose restrictions to travelers coming from countries – not included in the initial list – that report the presence of the new variant of Covid-19 based on the joint recommendation of the Department of Health and the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA),” the DOH said in a statement.

“In view of this, the list of countries included in the travel restrictions shall be regularly updated to include countries who will officially report detection of the (new Covid-19) variant,” it added.

Beside the United Kingdom from where the new Covid-19 variant was detected, the other countries where the government’s travel ban is applied are Denmark Ireland, Japan, Australia, Israel, The Netherlands, Hong Kong, Switzerland, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Lebanon, Singapore, Sweden, South Korea, South Africa, Canada, and Spain. SOVEREIGNPH

Leave a Reply