Thu. May 13th, 2021

The Philippines has added Austria to the list of countries under a travel bans due to the outbreak of the new coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19) strain from South Africa.

Presidential spokesperson Harry Roque said in a statement on Friday that foreign passengers arriving directly from Austria or those who have been in that country with 14 days immediately preceding arrival in the Philippines will be restricted from entering the country from January 10 to 15.

Earlier, the government added six more countries to the original list of 21 countries where the travel ban is imposed. With Austria, the total number of countries under a travel ban has reached 28.

Bureau of Immigration (BI) Commissioner Jaime Morente said the new restrictions also apply for travelers who will arrive from the following countries: Portugal, India, Finland, Norway, Jordan, and Brazil.

“The travel ban to these six countries started today, at midnight,” said Morente on Friday.

“However, Filipino citizens who have been to these countries within 14 days before arrival in the Philippines shall be allowed entry, but shall be referred to the airport’s one stop shop to undergo a strict 14-day quarantine,” the BI chief added.

Also due to the new Covid-19 variant from the United Kingdom, the government earlier imposed a travel ban on travelers from the United Kingdom, Denmark, Ireland, Japan, Australia, Israel, The Netherlands, Hong Kong SAR, Switzerland, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Lebanon, Singapore, Sweden, South Korea, South Africa, Canada, Spain, and the United States. SOVEREIGNPH

Leave a Reply