Wed. Aug 4th, 2021

The National Capital Region (NCR) and the provinces of Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna and Rizal will be placed under the less stringent modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) starting Monday or April 12, Presidential spokesperson Harry Roque said on Sunday

He also announced over state-run PTV that the MECQ will last until April 30, 2021.

(photo courtesy:

The other areas under MECQ include city of Santiago in Quirino province, and Abra province.

“President Rodrigo Duterte approved today the recommendation of the  Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infectious Diseases to place those areas under MECQ,” Roque said in Filipino.

He added that one of the reasons for the decision to place Metro Manila and the four provinces under MECQ is the commitment of hospitals to increase beds for Covid-19 patients, especially those in intensive care units.

Roque also announced the following areas will be placed under general community quarantine: Cordillera Administrative Region; Batangas province; Tacloban City; Iligan City; Davao City; Lanao del Sur province; and Quezon province

He added the rest of the country will be placed under modified GCQ.

NCR and Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna and Rizal provinces was placed under the most stringent ECQ for two weeks until April 11, 2021. SOVEREIGNPH

Leave a Reply