Sat. Jul 24th, 2021

President Rodrigo Duterte has extended the general community quarantine (GCQ) over the National Capital Region and the provinces of Rizal, Bulacan, Cavite, and Laguna until June 30, 2021.

(Photo Courtesy: Business Mirror)

Those areas are collectively known as NCR Plus.

In a taped speech, Duterte said Metro Manila and Bulacan will have “some restrictions” while Rizal, Laguna, and Cavite will be under GCQ with “heightened restrictions.”

OCTA Research earlier recommended the extension of the GCQ over NCR Plus.

“Given the downward trends, further calibrated easing of restrictions for certain businesses can be considered provided these establishments comply with health and safety protocols of the government,” OCTA fellow Ranjit Rye said in a message to reporters.

“Further, the national government needs to accelerate the implementation of the NCR Plus vaccination plan,” he added

Also, the following areas will be under GCQ for the remainder of June: Baguio City, Kalinga, Mountain province, Abra, Benguet, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, Batangas, Quezon, Iligan City, Davao del Norte, General Santos City, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani, Lanao del Sur and Cotabato City.

Meanwhile, the following will be under the stricter modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) until June 30: Santiago City, Cagayan, Apayao, Ifugao, Lucena City, Bataan, Puerto Princesa, Naga City, Iloilo City, Iloilo, Negros Oriental, Zamboanga City, Zamboanga Sibugay, -Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga del Norte, Cagayan de Oro City, Davao City, Butuan City, Agusan del Sur, and Dinagat Islands.The most lenient modified GCQ will be imposed over the rest of the country. SOVEREIGNPH

Leave a Reply