Wed. May 18th, 2022

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) will conduct a nationwide synchronized voter registration activity in malls on September 11.In an advisory on Thursday, Commissioner Aimee Ferolino-Ampoloquio said malls in cities in Metro Manila will participate in the activity where the Offices of the Election Officer (OEOs) will accommodate applicants in selected malls of Robinsons Malls, Ayala Malls and SM Supermalls only up to 5 p.m. on Saturday.“

(Photo Courtesy: Rappler)

We value not only the comfort and convenience of the public, but also the safety and security of everyone, especially in the last days of registration. That is why the Comelec is very grateful that we have joined the private sector and other government agencies in successfully achieving this goal,” the poll body official added.Ferolino-Ampoloquio led the security conference for National Capital Region (NCR) held on Thursday in preparation for the activity.Temie Lambino, NCR Regional Election Director, highlighted the key value of the continued support of the mall partners and the Philippine National Police (PNP) in ensuring the successful conduct of mall registration, particularly the assistance that will be extended in order to properly manage the queues and ensure physical distancing.On the other hand, Col. Luis Maria Pascual from the National Capital Region Police Office (NCRPO) committed that an initial 351 policemen will be deployed on Saturday to ensure the peaceful and orderly conduct of voter registration and strict implementation of health and safety protocols.

Metro Manila remains under modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) until Sept. 15.The schedule of mall registrations in Metro Manila in the region on Saturday are as follows–Caloocan City (1st and 2nd Districts), SM Sangandaan;–Las Piñas City, SM Southmall (Sept. 10 to 11);–Makati City (1st and 2nd Districts), Ayala Malls, Glorietta and Ayala Mall Circuit Makati;–Malabon City, Robinsons Town Mall;–Mandaluyong City, SM Megamall;–Manila (1st and 2nd Districts), Tutuban Mall; 3rd District, SM San Lazaro; 4th District, SM Manila; 5th District, Robinsons Place Manila; 6th District, Robinsons Otis;–Marikina City (1st and 2nd Districts), SM Marikina.–Parañaque City (1st District), Ayala Malls By the Bay; 2nd District, SM BF;–Pasay City (1st and 2nd Districts), SM Mall of Asia;–Pasig City (1st District), Ayala Malls the 30th; 2nd District, Ayala Malls Feliz.–Quezon City (1st District), Trinoma; 2nd, 5th and 6th Districts, Fairview Terraces; 3rd and 4th Districts, UP Town Center;–San Juan City, Greenhills Mall;–Taguig City, Bonifacio High Street;–Valenzuela City (1st and 2nd Districts), SM Valenzuela.Other mall registration schedules throughout September in other areas are posted on the official website and social media accounts of the Commission, as well as in the bulletin boards of district, city or municipal halls and OEOs.The nationwide voter registration is set to end on Sept. 30.

Leave a Reply