Fri. May 27th, 2022

The Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF) will definitely review the Covid-19 situations and the vaccination coverage of areas placed under less restrictive Alert Level 2 for possible downgrade to the most lenient Alert Level 1 System, National Task Force (NTF) against Covid special medical adviser, Dr. Ted Herbosa, said Thursday.


Herbosa said these areas should reach a vaccination rate of above 70 percent of their target population, with 80 percent of their senior citizens and persons with comorbidities already vaccinated.

“So, the IATF will review this, I know they have a meeting today to review the areas under Alert Level 2, if these can be downgraded to Alert Level 1 as recommended on Monday,” Herbosa said in Filipino an interview at the Laging Handa public briefing.

Herbosa said this could be positive news “so long that the country’s Covid-19 cases will continue to go down.”

Areas under Alert Level 2 for the first half of March are:

(Luzon) Benguet, Ifugao, and Mountain Province in Cordillera Administrative Region; Nueva Vizcaya in Region 2: Nueva Ecija and Zambales in Region 3; Batangas, Lucena City, Quezon, and Rizal in Region 4-A; Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, and Palawan in Region 4-B; and Albay, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Masbate, and Sorsogon in Region 5.

In Visayas are Antique, Iloilo City, Iloilo, and Negros Occidental in Region 6; Bohol, Cebu Province, Cebu City, Lapu-Lapu City, Mandaue City, and Negros Oriental in Region 7; and Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar, Ormoc City, Southern Leyte, Tacloban City, and Western Samar in Region 8.

In Mindanao, Region 9: City of Isabela, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga del Norte, and Zamboanga Sibugay; Bukidnon, Iligan City, Lanao del Norte, Misamis Occidental, and Misamis Oriental in Region 10; Davao De Oro, Davao Del Sur, Davao Del Norte, Davao Oriental, and Davao Occidental in Region 11; General Santos City, North Cotabato, Sarangani, South Cotabato, and Sultan Kudarat in Region 12; Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Butuan City, and Dinagat Islands in Caraga Region; and Basilan, Maguindanao, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi, Cotabato City, and Lanao Del Sur in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao.

Herbosa said the country’s overall Covid-19 situation is so far so “good” amid the easing of restrictions in Metro Manila and other 38 areas. 

Leave a Reply